Author Jac Wright Shares Their Story

Author Jac Wright Shares Their Story

About the Author
Jac Wright is a published poet, published author, and an electronics engineer educated at Stanford, University College London, and Cambridge who lives and works in England. Jac studied English literature from the early age of three, developing an intense love for poetry, drama, and writing in Trinity College Speech & Drama classes taken every Saturday for fourteen years, and in subsequent creative writing classes taken during the university years. A published poet, Jac’s first passion was for literary fiction and poetry writing as well as for the dramatic arts. You will find these influences in the poetic imagery and prose, the dramatic scene setting, and the deep character creation.

These passions – for poetry, drama, literary fiction, and electronic engineering – have all been lovingly combined to create the first book in the literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer. There are millions of professionals in high tech corporate environments who work in thousands of cities in the US, the UK, and the world such as engineers, technicians, technical managers, investment bankers, and corporate lawyers. High drama, power struggles, and human interest stories play out in the arena every day. Yet there are hardly any books that tell their stories; there are not many books that they can identify with. Jac feels compelled to tell their stories in The Reckless Engineer series.

Jac also writes the literary short fiction series, Summerset Tales, in which he explores characters struggling against their passions and social circumstances in the semi-fictional region of contemporary England called Summerset, partly the region that Thomas Hardy called Wessex. Some of the tales have an added element of suspense similar to Roald Dahl’s Tales of the Unexpected. The collection is published as individual tales in the tradition of Charles Dickens’ The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy’s Wessex Tales. The first tale, The Closet, accompanies the author’s first full-length literary suspense title, The Reckless Engineer.

What inspires you to write romance books?
I agree with the theory that we live in a Freudian society to a great extent, which means that most human actions are motivated by passion and desire and other feelings arising from them. I therefore wanted to explore how passion, desire, and romantic love motivate human behaviour.

I combine this with suspense and I write two series: the full-length fiction series, The Reckless Engineer, and the short fiction collection, Summerset Tales. In the first story of each sereis I look at the troubles of a protagonist who is blinded by romantic love and who is driven by passion and desire into actions that get him into trouble almost in spite of his better judgement.

In The Reckless Engineer I look at the troubles my protagonist gets himself into mostly from the viewpoints of the people around him. In The Closet, however, I am right there in his head, examining how it feels for him – the angst, the highs, and the lows he feels being hopelessly in love.

Into this arena I inject the suspense and all is not what it seems . . .

Tell us about how you write:
The core idea and the main characters come to me in a moment of unexpected inspiration from some creative place deep in my subconscious mind, like a scene of a movie or segments of a disjointed dream. It might take months or even a year or two before I sit down and start writing the story based on it.

Then I write in spells. Sometimes I might write all day long for a week or to; sometimes I might write a few ours a day steadily for a few weeks; at other times I might go without writing for a couple of months. I find I cannot force myself to write when I feel the block. If I do, the writing comes out contrived and not feeling right. Inspiration has to come to me naturally. I just have to leave the manuscript aside and do something else until the words and ideas start to flow again.

Do you listen (or talk to) to your characters?
I write mostly in the third person close or limited POV (Point of View) and occasionally in the first person POV. So it is more like I know what my protagonist is thinking and feeling. I give each character a psychology and I keep him or her true to it. Sometimes they struggle against it because of the demands of and needs of the people around him; at other times, from the demands from his own conscience.

What advice would you give other writers?
Read the classics from an early age; they have been filtered through trails and have stood the test of time without dying because there is something special and timeless in them. Also study poetry, which helps your create appealing prose and makes it possible for you to create poignant imagery. Study drama, if you can, because it helps you with scene setting and memorable exchanges between characters.

However, do not let what you read of others’ work, advice of others, or what you read on the Internet drown out your own voice too much. Quiet your mind and listen to that inner voice that will create something unique to you.

How did you decide how to publish your books?
I am a classic at heart and I have so far done everything the classical way. For my full-length fiction series I have gone to a traditional publisher. For my poetry and short fiction I have gone to literary magazines.

For The Closet I decided to make a slight detour and publish it myself purely as a companion or a prelude to the full-length book, The Reckless Engineer.

What do you think about the future of book publishing?
Being an engineer familiar with the technology I know that in the near future we will be carrying with us a reading device that is not much different from an opaque plastic folder. It will be flexible like the covers of a folder. We shall be opening such a device and reading most of our books and newspapers on it.

Print books, however, will remain still sell because there is something timeless and appealing to human instincts about a book that cannot be reproduced on a digital device.

What genres do you write?
Romantic Suspense, Thriller, Mystery

What formats are your books in?
Both eBook and Print

Website(s)
Author Home Page Link
Link To Author Page On Amazon

Your Social Media Links
http://www.shelfari.com/groups/104787/about
https://www.facebook.com/jacwrightbooks
https://twitter.com/JacWrightBooks

1 thought on “Author Jac Wright Shares Their Story”

  1. Hi Sonja & Katie. Thanks very much for hosting me on your fine blog. I really got into the questions and had a great time answering. Many happy reading times to everybody.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *